Suggs: My Mad-Life Crisis

Madness front man tells his funny and moving true-life story. The death of Suggs’ beloved cat on his fiftieth birthday triggers a personal quest to discover what happened to the father he never knew. Stunned by what he learns, Suggs takes us back to his childhood and his first appearance on Top Of The Pops at the age of eighteen.

First Broadcast:

Thursday 24th December 2015 at 14:15 on BBC Radio 4

Production Credits:

Adapted for radio by: Owen Lewis
From the stage play ‘My Life In Words And Music’ by: Graham McPherson & Toby Follett
Cast: Suggs (himself), Ewan Bailey (various male) & Philippa Stanton (various female)
Broadcast Assistant: Sarah Tombling
Sound Engineer: David Thomas
Producer: Karen Rose
Director: Owen Lewis
Live music performed by: Dean Mumford
Music: Madness by Madness, Top Of The Pops Theme by Rabinowitz, Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick by Ian Dury & The Blockheads, Vaudeville performed by Dean Mumford, Sisters by The Puppini Sisters, Edward Elgar (1857-1934): Funeral March, Every time We Say Goodbye by Porter, Baggy Trousers by Madness, Shut Up by Madness, See You Later Alligator by Madness, Jailhouse Rock by Elvis Presley, Tears Of A Clown by Smokey Robinson & The Miracles, Night Boat To Cairo by Madness, Gangsters by The Specials, The Prince by Madness, A Message To You Rudy by The Specials, It Must Be Love by Madness, Dont Look Back In Anger by Oasis, Mr Brown by Bob Marley, Funky Kingston by Toots & The Maytals, Love Is The Drug by Roxy Music, I Chase The Devil by Madness, Different Sides Of Same Coin by Sore Throat, Razor Blade Alley by Madness, My Girl by Madness, One Step Beyond by Madness, Grey Day by Madness, On A Ragga Trip by SL2, Our House by Madness, Countdown Theme and The Flintstones Theme.

Share this production: